B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

Why I submitted a FAFSA and my short-term goals

Posted by forlogos on November 16, 2006

I just completed and submitted my 1st FAFSA, which is the Free Application for Federal Student Aid. I should be receiving my Student Aid Report (SAR) in about two weeks. This report will basically tell me the aid, loans, and grants which I should be qualified for.

I am applying for student loans just now towards the end of my first term of MBA studies, since I am currently participating in my employer’s tuition reimbursement program. I will try to participate for the next term as well, but I don’t know for sure if I will be qualified for next year and I need to cover my financial base. The reason I may be unqualified next year is because I would like to take a leave of absence from work to take a summer internship and study full-time for a term or two. If I don’t find any internships I will quit my job and look for a job in my target area, marketing. I will then study part-time and hopefully be lucky and work for a company that will pay for school. I cannot participate in my current employer’s tuition reimbursement program while on leave or, obviously, not an employee.

Since there is too much uncertainty in my near future, I need to have a student loan available in case I have to start paying for school myself.

I know it may seem crazy to leave my job now, but I am thinking for the long-term. I am currently working as an administrative assistant and I don’t want to end up as an admin with an MBA without the relative experience needed for the job I would like to have. The right type of internship in the right type of company will go a long way in giving me the experience I need and maybe another internship and a job. It will also give me the confidence to take the plunge and study full-time. If I don’t find an internship, I should be qualified for a job in a lesser capacity in the target area that I want and still gain the experience I need.

I’ve never applied for student aid or loans before and trying to figure everything out was quite a project. I credit The Financial Aid podcast in helping me. Check it out, the show is full of great resources and information.

One Response to “Why I submitted a FAFSA and my short-term goals”

  1. Hiya!. Thanks a bunch for the blog. I’ve been digging around looking some info up for shool, but there is so much out there. Google lead me here – good for you i suppose! Keep up the good work. I will be coming back in a few days to see if there is any more info.

Leave a Reply

 
