B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

Forum Post: making Categories/Tags appear as a Page

Posted by forlogos on December 9, 2006

Just posted this on the WordPress.com Forums. Thought I’d share it here:

another way to ask this is: how do I make a page that will show all my posts for a category?

I searched the forums for doing this and did not find any answers – they all said it cannot be done, other than creating an index.

I simply wanted to add links of my biggest categories to the top of my blog, next to the button that says “home” and “about me” See the top of my blog as an example https://bstuffetc.wordpress.com. Clicking on any of the links beside “home and “who me” brings up all the posts with that category.

I played around with the html code and figured how to do this.
1. Make a page with content. This could be any page that you would likely already have. In my case it was “Who me”
2. When editing that page (dashboard>manage>pages>edit), add the following code after the title:

<a href="http://X/tag/Y/" title="Z">W</a>

where
X is your blogs domain such as bstuffetc.wordpress.com
Y is the name of your tag
Z is the tooltip you want to appear when the mouse is placed over the link
W is what you want the link to say

Just add the same code again and again for every new link that you want. Also, you can add links that point outside of wordpress.com. The code will not be seen when you look at your blog.

The downside is that you have to add more code each time you want another link, but since the idea is to have a shorter tag list versus all the tags you have in your categories widget, I think it’s fine.

When I go to Dashboard>manage>pages I only have one page but with a very long title, because of the code.

I hope others users can find this post and make good use of it. thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
