B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

BJJ Class 52

Posted by forlogos on February 12, 2007

Class 52 was great!! I felt so much better with this class and it was so great compared to my last few. For the past several months, I’ve been rolling against higher belts for most of the time. It’s good cause I really get to work on my defense, but I also picked up a lot of bad habits. Lately I’ve been trying to roll with fellow white belts so I can correct my bad habits and work on the many things I need to work on.

So this class, I just rolled with white belts. It was all rolling and there were no drills or warm-ups. I first went against this guy that started at the same time as I did. I immediately pulled off a triangle on him and later did an arm-bar. I dunno what I else I did, but I dominated the whole roll. I did very well with everyone else I rolled with. Pretty much. I felt great and was surprised by how “easy” it was.

I was going on a dominant streak and started to feel pretty confident – good thing I managed to roll with this white belt I haven’t seen before who has been going on and off for a few years now. He kept me in check and kept me on the defense the whole time. Good thing!

On the way to BJJ, I was watching this half-guard video from SBGI that I downloaded months ago. I didn’t get to see the whole thing, but did manage to pull off the basic half-guard position. Legs triangled, body sideways on one hip, outer arm on an underhook, inner arm on a grip on the matching opponents bicep. It really is an effective way to fight in the half-guard.

Learned this side-mount escape from a fellow noob:
Hipscape to one side and go on one hip at the same time. Sit up. Motion causes you and your opponent to switch positions. Adjust your legs and snicker at having done such a simple reversal.
Counter: Posture and keep opponent from hipscaping away.

Some take-aways from the class (for me):
1. When attempting a triangle – I should always use my arms to get the first leg in position. If I don’t, I won’t be able to sink the triangle and will end up stacked
2. All moves don’t work the same on different people. Accept it. If it doesn’t work, try something else
3. Hips are key
4. Relax. Slow down your breath. Relax

Leave a Reply

 
