B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

Skin Condition

Posted by forlogos on February 12, 2007

So I went to my doctor about what I have on my skin. She didn’t know for sure what it was but verified that it wasn’t a sweat rash as suggested by MMABJJ. She had a blood test taken to make sure it wasn’t doing anything else to me and referred me to a dermatologist. I’ve never heard of a sweat rash before, but I think I’m immune to it – I grew up and spent my 1st 21 years in the always hot Philippines…

I went to the dermatologist and she said it was Molluscum Contagiosum, which is part of the wart or pox family. It’s infectious by contact, so if you touch it you catch it. Which means that it has been a good thing that I’ve been going to gi classes lately, so I know I haven’t inadvertently spread it around. Good thing AG didn’t get it, I hug her quite a lot and they’ve touched her quite frequently. It doesn’t do any bodily damage or cause anything, so it’s relatively safe. It will go away on its own, but it will take some time.

The dermatologist froze the 7 spots that I had. After a while, it bloated up and it looked like big insect bites, then shrunk down and turned into big red spots. I also got a prescription for Aldara, so hopefully it goes away soon and I can go to no-gi classes again. Actually, I can go to no-gi so long as I cover it up with sleeves or something.

2 Responses to “Skin Condition”

  1. mmabjj said

    Ooh, yeah. Sorry bout that. I’m not a doctor! 😉

  2. forlogos said

    no need to apologize…thank you for the info you provided. I personally would’ve preferred to have had a sweat rash than the thing I do have…

Leave a Reply

 
