B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

BJJ Class 54

Posted by forlogos on February 24, 2007

Lately I’ve been going to BJJ just once a week.  Wish I could go more often, but I’ve been snowboarding instead so it’s ok.

This class was all rolling.  For the first time ever, sparring included  stand-up.  Never done that before, usually we start kneeling down.  Five minutes were spent just setting up throws and takedowns, the next five was with throws and takedowns, the rest of the session was rolling from kneeling.  I think I held my own against the blue belt I was paired with for the stand-up part.  I was able to reverse some of his attempts, but I didn’t get to go on the offense much.

I was schooled during the regular rolling.  Nothing went right and I was tapping to everyone, even noobs.  Well, early on I was kneed on the head while defending a guard pass.  I saw stars and felt a bit nauseous, but I wanted to roll so I just kept going.  Am not too sure if I sucked just because I suck.  Or not.  Anyway, am glad the knee didn’t give me a shiner.

One Response to “BJJ Class 54”

  1. mmabjj said

    Standing work really takes it out of you, doesn’t it… I find it much harder work than rolling on the ground.

Leave a Reply

 
