B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

BJJ Class 58

Posted by forlogos on March 10, 2007

Went to a no-gi class today.

Haven’t been to too many…

Anyway, for the first time in a long while, we had a regular class. Lately the classes consisted of open mat rolling. All rolling. Not a complaint, but it did have me wonder whether there might be a competition coming up. I dunno.

Anyway, after warm-ups we drilled two moves from open guard with the top player standing trying to pass the guard. The first move was a sweep where you eventually get both hooks in from behind your opponent and sweep them to get their back. The second was a plan B for the sweep which leads to a kneebar. It’s the second time I learned a move with a leg lock (white belts aren’t permitted to attack the legs in my academy) but I didn’t enjoy it too much. The sweep was difficult for me to pull off, even though I kinda got it eventually, it was still very difficult and I didn’t like it at all. I felt very weak and had great difficulty getting the proper technique – even muscling the move didn’t make it work. The moves took most of the class, and there was barely enough time left for rolling.

I went against a former wrestler and the guy I drilled the techniques with. The Guy I drilled with was huge and has improved so much since our last roll. He got me in a kimura 3 times or so and totally dominated. After the first 3 subs, I felt my body get warmer and was able to defend and fight for position but there wasn’t enough time for the roll. The former highschool wrestler has been learning BJJ for about 4 months now and when we started rolling, he had the upper hand. Actually, I think he had it for most of the roll, but I managed to score points on him and I don’t think he scored any. I swept him a few times (twice or thrice from the EB half-guard) and got to mount for a few minutes. Anyway, no subs but I was coming close to one when the time ended.

I hurt my wrist previously, I don’t remember when or how, but I know it was from BJJ. I hurt it even more today when I was avoiding the wrestler’s guard pass, even had to take a short breather just to shake and stretch it a bit.

Anyway, I’m glad I got to go to BJJ twice this week. Good week. Plus am snowboarding tomorrow. Hehehe.

Leave a Reply

 
