B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

New credit card

Posted by forlogos on March 10, 2007

Got myself a new card.

I wanted to get a Visa or Mastercard, as the other brands aren’t as widely accepted. I’ve been using my American Express In:NYC card for bit now, and I get annoyed when I can’t use it to make some purchases, so I end up carrying two cards on my person the whole time. Also, I’m pretty unhappy with the selection of rewards available to that card – I’d rather have cash back or electronics rather than gift certificates to new and overpriced Manhattan restaurants.

So I wanted to get a free (no annual fee), visa or mastercard, with rewards or cash-back. This quickly eliminated most cards. I also wanted a card where I could access my account online – with a great interface – so that removed the Chase cards. Anyway, long story short I narrowed my choices down to two Citi cards, Capital One came close to making it but nahhh! I don’t like how they report your credit to the  credit bureaus.  I kept going back and forth with the Citi Premier Pass and Citi Dividend Platinum Select. In the end I went with the Premier Pass. I figured I’d be happier saying “I got that with my reward points” rather than “I got $300 back from my card”.

Although, now that I think about it, maybe I’ll get the other too….

One Response to “New credit card”

  1. Alex said

    Thank You

Leave a Reply

 
