B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

Simple spider guard pass

Posted by forlogos on April 18, 2007

As I said back in BJJ Class 64, here is the illustration of the guard pass learned that day.

img_8040_filtered.jpg
Boarder gets caught in no-gi’s spider guard. Boarder keeps his posture up

img_8045_filtered.jpg
Boarder gets up on his feet and with both hands grabs the the pants of no-gi at the bottom near the ankles. Boarder uses good base so as not to get swept or pulled in

img_8047_filteredr.jpg
Boarder steps back, still maintaining his base

img_8050_filtered.jpg
In one swift motion, boarder pulls on no-gi’s pants, bringing no-gi closer. At the same time boarder raises no-gis legs and stacks him. The swift motion releases no-gi’s grips and footholds. Boarder is in a good position to pass

img_8053_filtered.jpg
img_8055_filtered.jpg
Boarder passes and settles into side control

Hope I didn’t miss any details, class 64 was about two weeks ago…

And wow, it’s hard working with them toys!! I wonder how long it takes the Robot Chicken people to do their shows

5 Responses to “Simple spider guard pass”

  1. mmabjj said

    Nice post!

    If I may…. I did this with a purple belt the other day, and he recommended me to really keep my hips pushed towards the opponent.

    So, in the third picture from the bottom, I recommend your hips pushing on the backs of his thighs and your chest up high, rather than bent over at the waist.

    Hehe, I’m a pain in the ass huh… I haven’t had time to blog lately, I got a new job. Still training though! I will be competing in May… I need to lose some weight though, argh…

  2. forlogos said

    A few months back, we drilled a guardpass exactly how you suggested, and with your feet right next to your opponent rather than far away…

    wonder when it would be preferable to do the pass one way over the other….

    Anyway, thank you!

    It’s good to know you’re still around!!

  3. VAT said

    I don’t understand the transition between picture 3 and 4. How do you pull him? Using biceps strength? How do you bring his feet so high up?

  4. forlogos said

    yes, basically just using your arms. In all the times I’ve tried this, I’ve never been unable to pull someone close. You can take your time setting your grips and base, but when you pull them in, it has to be quick.

  5. First of all I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like
    to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing.
    I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting
    my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure
    in writing however it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out how
    to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
