B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

Golden Ticket

Posted by forlogos on April 25, 2007

Last night after writing my previous post, I went to bed all sad and stuff. I woke up with the tune of “I’ve Got A Golden Ticket” from the original Willy Wonka movie stuck in my head. A good sign for things to come? I hope so.

Lyrics of (I’ve Got A) Golden Ticket:

Grandpa Joe:
I never thought my life could be
Anything but catastrophe
But suddenly I begin to see
A bit of good luck for me

‘Cause I’ve got a golden ticket
I’ve got a golden twinkle in my eye

I never had a chance to shine
Never a happy song to sing
But suddenly half the world is mine
What an amazing thing

‘Cause I’ve got a golden ticket

[Spoken]
It’s ours, Charlie!

[Sung]
I’ve got a golden sun up in the sky

I never thought I’d see the day
When I would face the world and say
Good morning, look at the sun
I never thought that I would be
Slap in the lap of luxury
‘Cause I’d have said:

Charlie:
It couldn’t be done

Grandpa Joe:
But it can be done

I never dreamed that I would climb
Over the moon in ecstasy
But nevertheless, it’s there that I’m
Shortly about to be

Grandpa Joe and Charlie:
‘Cause I’ve got a golden ticket
I’ve got a golden chance to make my way
And with a golden ticket, it’s a golden day

Grandpa Joe:
[Spoken]
Good morning, look at the sun!

Grandpa Joe and Charlie:
[Sung]
‘Cause I’d have said,
It couldn’t be done

Grandpa Joe:
But it can be done

I never dreamed that I would climb
Over the moon in ecstasy
But nevertheless, it’s there that I’m
Shortly about to be

‘Cause I’ve got a golden ticket

Grandpa Joe and Charlie:
‘Cause I’ve got a golden ticket
I’ve got a golden chance to make my way
And with a golden ticket, it’s a golden day

So when I got to work, I put the CD of the soundtrack on. After the Golden Ticket song, Lucky Charlie played (WinAmp was playing in random order). These two songs are definite pick-me-ups and fit my situation somewhat.

Lyrics of Lucky Charlie:

Charlie’s Mother:
You get blue like everyone,
But me and Grandpa Joe
Can make you troubles go away,
Blow away, there they go…

Cheer Up Charlie
Give me a smile,
What happened to the smile I used to know
Don’t you know your grin has always been my sunshine;
Let that sunshine show…

Come on Charlie,
No need to frown,
Deep down you know the world is still your toy…

When the days get heavy
Never pitter patter
Up and attum boy.

Someday, sweet as a song,
Charhe’s lucky day will come along,
Till that day,
You’ve got to stay strong Charlie,
Up on top is right where you belong.

Look up Charlie,
You’ll see a star,
Just follow it and keep your dreams in view.
Pretty soon the sky is going to clear up Charlie,
Cheer up Charlie do,
Cheer up Charlie,
Just be glad you’re you

Leave a Reply

 
