B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

summer can begin and internship update

Posted by forlogos on August 3, 2007

I’ve been busy the past week studying hard for my finals and didn’t have time to go online at all.

Anyway, the term is over, finally, and now I can start enjoying summer!! I took my last test last night and now summer can begin…

A lot of interns left last week, as their stint at the unfair internship was over. Given the experiences we go through everyday there, I’m surprised we all lasted as long as we did.

If you are not receiving academic credit for the work you are doing, by law, you must be paid at least at the NYS minimum wage. If not, you can file a complaint with the Division of Labor Standards. Go to http://www.labor.state.ny.us/workerprotection/laborstandards/workprot/lsdists.shtm to contact your local district office for assistance.

This is the response that I got from my state’s DOL office. They responded the same day, but I didn’t see it as I had already started studying.

I also got a great comment on my last post (response from DOL) from someone in the NYC DOL.

Very good stuff!! I’ll give this a guy a call, let’s see what happens…

2 Responses to “summer can begin and internship update”

  1. exintern said

    Excellent and congratulations! I’m glad that you were able to report the company and I’m looking forward to see how it happened. I will surely post in on unfairinternships.com.

  2. forlogos said

    Thanks!! I’m writing about it now –

Leave a Reply

 
