B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

More about my labrum

Posted by forlogos on August 22, 2007

My shoulder injury has improved somewhat since I got it about two months ago. I say somewhat because even though it’s getting better, it’s taking a real, real sloooooooooooooooow time improving. As a matter of fact, I could almost say it hasn’t changed.

Anyway, I went back to my doctor the other day…

It sucks not knowing for sure what your injury is… my doctor (an orthopedic doc) and his Physician Assistant suspect a labrum tear and all symptoms point to it, but they aren’t 100% sure. So I finally got an MRI and we’ll find out for sure what the injury is and how big or small the damage is.

They said I could go back to training, but very lightly. Hearing this made my day and I decided to go back to training in two days.

The day after, I told my physical therapist this and he explained that any time I put weight on my arm/shoulder, it stresses the injury, and could make it worse. This makes posting my arm out to avoid being swept or just to maintain base something I should avoid, but with the randomness of rolling and all – it’s mostly a bad idea to go back to BJJ now, even if all my rolling doesn’t include stand-up. Guess my doc doesn’t know what happens in BJJ.

I decided to wait to see the MRI results before making any training decisions.

Most likely my injury is a small tear. It’s small enough that activities of daily living (putting clothes on, walking, eating,etc…) isn’t affected, but it does hurt when I put on or remove a shirt. So for the most part, the injury isn’t severe and I’m not a surgery candidate. Some people will be able to live with this injury and avoid any surgery, but I do want to get this injury better so I can go back to BJJ. And if it’s not BJJ, it’s going to be another martial art. The point is, martial arts has always been a part of my life and I want it to continue being a part of it. If surgery is necessary to be able to put weight on the arm, swing it, punch with it, block with it, then I will choose surgery.

I’ll know the results of the MRI in a week.

An MRI wasn’t taken before as the injury was too “fresh” when I saw the doc the first time. I guess all the swelling would’ve made for a less than optimal image. I posted before about how in NY you can never have an appointment with a healthcare professional within a week of setting it up – well, right after the doc appointment I walked into the MRI place they recommended, as it was in the same building, and got my appointment right away. Filled out some forms and had my MRI immediately. Wow.

Leave a Reply

 
