B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

MRI results

Posted by forlogos on August 30, 2007

Someone found my blog by doing a search for “How long to find out MRI results.”

So while that individual likely won’t be seeing this post, here’s my answer: It usually takes an MRI facility three business days to deliver the results to your doctor. You won’t know the results until you see your doctor.

Ok, now for my MRI results…

I will need surgery. A tear like the one I have should have healed already as it usually takes four to six weeks to heal, but my injury hasn’t improved after about eight weeks. So it’s the knife for me.

I don’t have a date for my surgery yet as I want to do more research before I schedule anything.

The alternative to not having surgery is to live with the injury and change my activities. I can’t do without BJJ (or any martial art), not exercising, not being able to snowboard (able to fall) and stuff so I don’t like the alternative. Of course I don’t mind not being able to carry the groceries with my right arm.

The procedure, arthroscopic labrum repair, is minimally invasive and will take about 45 minutes. I’ll be able to go home after but will need to have my arm in a sling for two or three weeks. Then I’ll need about three months of therapy. Oh joy!!

Hopefully I’ll be able to roll again in January 2008. I better get the surgery sooner too so I don’t miss out on the upcoming snowboarding season (global climate change permitting)!!

Leave a Reply

 
