B Stuff et cetera

A blog about (snow)Boarding and Business school

BJJ Class 96 – shoulder pain starting

Posted by forlogos on April 21, 2008

Class 96 was a weekend open-mat session. After stretching and warming up, I started rolling.

I started with V (was this how I named people before or am I just starting this now?), a white belt who I remember from last year. He’s bigger than me and always did the kimura. He didn’t go for the Kimura this time, but we had a good long roll (or it seemed long). I completely gassed. I don’t remember how the roll went exactly, but I think he spent a lot of time trying to pass my guard. At one point he passed, I think he mounted, and I think I reversed. Anyway, I ended up in his guard trying to pass. While trying to break his guard open by pushing down on his hips, he grabbed my right arm and started pulling (armdrag). The pull, plus my pushing down and away on his hips put pressure on my right shoulder (the bad one) and it started to hurt. I think I yelled “stop!!!” or something cause we both stopped what we were doing, then I muttered something about his pulling my arm, me pushing away, and my injury. We rolled a bit more after that, but I got too tired and had to stop.

While resting on the side, I started talking to P. P is a newish white belt (3 months or so) and we started talking about this BJJ seminar he went to. He showed me a few moves that he learned, all of which were pretty cool. One was an open guard sweep that I would like to try out while rolling and hopefully incorporate in my game. I also showed him a bicep squeeze that I learned before, as the initial set-up of the cool sweep starts out kinda alike. We rolled a bit after that and he worked on his side control. I found it kind of funny, cause I think I was able to do most of the submissions we had shown each other. I tried the cool sweep, but it really opened me up for a guard pass, which he did when I tried it. I did several subs (which I’m not adding to my tap counter), but mostly just worked on technique and trying to get the leverage right.

After all that, I did one last roll with S. S is a whitebelt with experience, though I don’t remember how much. Anyway, he really likes the triangle choke. So while trying to pass his guard, I got caught in a triangle. I was trying to escape, escape, escape, but I couldn’t. Just as I was starting to think that I should tap, he pulled out on my right arm, the one caught in the triangle, and quickly triangle-armbarred it. I tapped quickly, but not quick enough as I felt something in my right shoulder. Again.

My shoulder felt ok, but it was time to call it a day. Well, I asked him about some triangle escapes, then I called it a day.

The day after, late in the evening, I found myself in AG’s friend’s couch propped up on my right elbow. I didn’t notice at first, but it got uncomfortable for my shoulder, so I changed position and leaned on my good left shoulder instead. On the way home, I was hugging AG as we were commuting home in the subway standing up. My arms were around her, but the bumpy motion of the train and my arms being around her resulted in my arm being gently tugged every so often. I had to let go of the hug as my shoulder was aching mildy. Not good. I went to bed that night not sure what to think of it…

2 Responses to “BJJ Class 96 – shoulder pain starting”

  1. Hello very cool website!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .

    . I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?
    I’m glad to search out a lot of useful info here in the publish, we’d like work
    out extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  2. This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
